Just Plain Networking Forum
  General Message Forum
  Spam Alert: Avoid IndieRhythm.com

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone! next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Spam Alert: Avoid IndieRhythm.com
Brian Austin Whitney
Bard of the Boards

Posts: 6370
From: Indianapolis, IN USA
Registered: Apr 2001

posted 02-28-2006 15:26     Click Here to See the Profile for Brian Austin Whitney   Click Here to Email Brian Austin Whitney     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Hi Folks,

We've gotten several spams today from a company called IndieRhythm who is launching to sell CD's. Aside from not having a compelling sales pitch, the fact that they are randomly spamming people, pretending to show interest in people's music who they don't even know is reason enough not to use their services. They sent us this spam email:

Hi,

I was looking at your website, and would like to sell your music on my new
website CD store, dedicated solely to Independent Musicians.

We are determined to be the number one seller of Indie CDs in the United States,
and think your music will help us achieve that goal.

Please write me back for more information if you're interested.

Sincerely,

James McCullough
IndieRhythm.com

Obviously they weren't looking at our website since we don't have a CD for sale. It's just a big spam campaign and it's sleazy. First I asked them to clarify what music of ours they were interested in. They responded with another generic spam. I sent them a note telling them to stop and their response was to send me another automated spam.

Basically, before they have even launched, they've already made an official enemy out of our organization. When will idiots and sleazebags ever learn that spamming people is not the way to create a positive relationship with their potential customer base or trust in their company?

If any of you got a similar spam, please let us know. I am concerned they might be harvesting our website for addresses and if so, I want to expose that as well.

Brian

[This message has been edited by Brian Austin Whitney (edited 02-28-2006).]

IP: Logged

Linda A
Serious Contributor

Posts: 1082
From: Maine
Registered: Oct 2003

posted 02-28-2006 22:54     Click Here to See the Profile for Linda A   Click Here to Email Linda A     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Thanks for looking out for us Brian! I probably would have jumped on if someone hadn't told me otherwise! Good Day, Linda A.

------------------
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pageartist.cfm?bandID=429263

you think you can, or you think you can't; you are right!"

IP: Logged

All times are ET (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Just Plain Folks

Copyright Just Plain Folks Productions 2005

Powered by Infopop www.infopop.com © 2000
Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47c